Psychedelic-Rock'n'roll: Got a Revolution!: The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane

14 February 2012

Got a Revolution!:
The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane

Got a Revolution!: The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane
Jeff Tamarkin
432 pages, Atria; 1 edition (June 3, 2003)

The most successful and influential Rock band to emerge from San Francisco during the 1960s, "Jefferson Airplane" created the sound of a generation.
In this groundbreaking biography of the band, veteran music writer and historian "Jeff Tamarkin" produces a portrait of the band like none that has come before it.
Having worked closely with "Jefferson Airplane" for more than a decade, Tamarkin had unprecedented access to the band members, their families, friends, lovers, crew members, fellow musicians, cultural luminaries, even the highest-ranking politicians of the time.

More than just a definitive history, "Got a Revolution!" is a Rock legend unto itself.
"Jann Wenner", editor-in-chief and publisher of Rolling Stone, wrote, "The classic [Jefferson] Airplane lineup were both architects and messengers of a psychedelic age, a liberation of mind and body that profoundly changed American art, politics, and spirituality. It was a renaissance that could only have been born in San Francisco, and the Airplane, more than any other band in town, spread the good news nationwide".

Jefferson_Airplane,Jorma_Kaukonen,Jack_Casady,Signe_Anderson,Grace_Slick,Marty_Balin,somebody_to_love,white_rabbit,psychedelic-rocknroll"Jeff Tamarkind" begins with brief and interesting background information on the families of each of the major players in the "Jefferson Airplane" story, progresses to the formation of the band, and then follows the group's development through to the final dissolution of Starship in 1991.
Along the way, he pays a good deal of attention to Hot Tuna, the side project of guitarist "Jorma Kaukonen" and bass player "Jack Casady" that turned into an important group in its own right.
The bulk of attention is given to the classic Airplane configuration of Kaukonen, Casady, guitarist "Paul Kantner", drummer "Spencer Dryden" and vocalists "Marty Balin" and "Grace Slick".